cmshaw (cmshaw) wrote in suggestions,
cmshaw
cmshaw
suggestions

Don't prompt to watch an already-watched community

Title
Don't prompt to watch an already-watched community

Short, concise description of the idea
When you join a community which you are already watching, you are still given the option to watch it. This is confusing.

Full description of the idea
When you join a community, you are given the following prompt:

Press the button below to join the "Community Name" community. Uncheck the box below if you want to join the community without seeing community entries on your friends page.

[]Add "Community Name" to friends list.
If you are already watching this community ("watching a community" means it is added to your friends list) then this checkbox does nothing useful* -- unchecking it does not remove the community from your friends list. It should not show when you're already watching the community in question.

* It does do something -- it triggers a bug the removes your custom colors for that community -- but that's neither useful nor related to this suggestion.

An ordered list of benefits
  • Less confusion.
  • Less paperwork for the Department of Redundancy Dept.

An ordered list of problems/issues involved
  • None.

An organized list, or a few short paragraphs detailing suggestions for implementation
  • Check if the user is already watching the community in question.
  • If they are, don't show the checkbox or the part of the prompt related to it.
Tags: community membership, profile/userinfo, § implemented
Subscribe
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

  • 5 comments