Dove (dropsofviolet) wrote in suggestions,
Dove
dropsofviolet
suggestions

remove default subscription to "One of my friends uploads a new userpic"

Title
remove default subscription to "One of my friends uploads a new userpic"

Short, concise description of the idea
For new accounts, remove the default subscription to "One of my friends uploads a new userpic."

Full description of the idea
When you create a new Livejournal account, there are certain default settings. One setting is that you will automatically receive a notification when one of your friends uploads a new userpic. I don't think this is necessary. First of all, a new account won't have many friends to start off with. Secondly, you're automatically friended to yourself. One of the first things I do when creating an account is upload userpics. If I forget to turn this setting off, I get useless notifications that I have uploaded a userpic. Well, yeah, I know that already! That bogs down the servers. I'm not saying that we should remove this notification entirely, but I think it would be helpful not to make it a default behavior.

An ordered list of benefits
  • less strain on the server
  • default behavior more intuitive
  • wouldn't have to turn this option off for every account created
An ordered list of problems/issues involved
  • some people may prefer this default behavior
  • some coding will have to be done
Tags: new users, subscription management, userpics, § no status
Subscribe
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

  • 10 comments